‘Servant of God’ is a title given to those who are considered worthy to be investigated to find if they indeed reached sanctity.

What is a Cause?

After preparing a case the Sacred Congregation for the Causes of Saints (Congregatio de Causis Sanctorum) oversees a process which leads to beatification and/or canonisation of the candidate. This process is complex and involves the recognition of a miracle attributed to the nominee. A court is gathered to gain evidence of the heroic virtues, degree of selfless charity, holiness, and supernatural happenings surrounding the person.

Here are presented three such cases from the Legion of Mary. (There may be many more not yet nominated from the multitude of herioc workers for the Legion.)

The four stages to becoming a Saint are Servant of God, Venerable, Blessed, and Saint.

Frank Duff

Servant of God Frank Duff


Frank Duff was born on 7 June, 1889. He founded the Legion Of Mary on 7 September, 1921 and died on 7 November, 1980. Into the span of ninety one years and five months, he crammed the work and labours of many men. From the founding of the Legion to the day of his death, he worked at a pressure few could match. He was more a man of faith than a theorist, a man of courage too, who knew the back streets and the sordid surroundings where those lives he helped change, lived.

His Legion expanded in his lifetime to every continent and then practically every land on earth and through the remarkable system of contact and correspondence of the Legion, he was in intimate contact with persons of all grades in every corner of the globe.

His uncompromising Catholicism and his absolute reliance on Mary were a bulwark in an age of doctrinal turmoil. At the invitation of Pope Paul VI he attended the second Vatican Council as an observer. In his lifetime he had met and received the blessing of five Popes – including that of John Paul II – all of whom have expressed deep appreciation of the work he had done for the Church by virtue of the organisation he founded. The Cause for the Beatification of the Servant of God, Frank Duff, was introduced on 4 June, 1996.

Favours attributed to his intercession should be notified. Please e-mail 

Prayer for the Beatification of the Servant of God Frank Duff
God Our Father
You inspired your servant Frank Duff with a profound insight into the mystery of your Church, the Body of Christ, and of the place of Mary the Mother of Jesus in this mystery.
In his immense desire to share this insight with others and in full dependence on Mary he formed the Legion to be a sign of her maternal love for the world and a means of enlisting all her children in the Church’s evangelising work.
We thank you father for the graces conferred on him and for the benefits accruing to the Church from his courageous and shining faith. With confidence we beg you that through his intercession you grant the petition we lay before you…
We ask too that if it be according with your will, the holiness of his life may be acknowledged by the Church for the glory of your name.
Through Christ Our Lord, Amen.